Spacer
Canoo Logo
Powered by Canoo Logo
 in: 
case sensitive ss instead of ß
| Dictionaries | Word Grammar | Wordformation | Sentence Grammar | Spelling (D) | Glossary | Index |  
| Overview | Rules | Dictionary | Wordformation Browser |
 

Neoclassical wordformation

 
 
Neoclassical wordformation is the formation of new words using elements that are not independent words. In contrast to prefixes and suffixes, these elements do not necessarily combine with independent words. They can also combine with each other or with affixes to form new words.

For example, none of the elements in Psychologie, Psychopath, and logisch are independent words. The single elements – we call them formatives – can nevertheless be identified as wordformation entities. See, for example:

psych  in  Psychologie, Psychiatrie, psychosozial
log  in  Psychologie, Logopäde, logisch
path  in  Psychopath, Pathologe, pathogen

These formatives are mostly of Greek and to a lesser extent of Latin origin. They are borrowed from classical languages. Many of the words containing this kind of formatives are not classical, but modern wordformations following classical wordformation patterns. Therefore we call this kind of wordformation neoclassical wordformation and the formatives neoclassical formatives.

Note that the Wordformation Dictionary and the Wordformation Grammar do not distinguish between modern words and words that were formed according to the same patterns in Greek or Latin.

The description of neoclassical wordformation is divided into chapters according to the word class of the derived and compound words. The chapters describe the different wordformation types used to form neoclassical words.

Noun formation
Adjective formation
Verb formation
 
Linking elements 


Copyright © 2000-2017 Canoo Engineering AG, Kirschgartenstr. 5, CH-4051 Basel. All rights reserved.
Related terms dictionary: Copyright © 1996, 1997, 2011 by University of Tübingen.
Terms of use/Data protection | Contact
Spacer
canoonet fürs iPhone
canoonet - FindIT Die semantische Suche für Unternehmen
zappmedia
ÜBERSETZUNGSBÜRO
Alle Sprachen [DIN]

Spacer
Canoo Logo
Ein Produkt von Canoo Logo
 in: 
Groß-/Kleinschreibung ss statt ß
| Wörterbücher | Wortgrammatik | Wortbildung | Satzgrammatik | Rechtschreibung | Glossar | Fachbegriffe A-Z |  
| Überblick | Regeln | Wörterbuch | Wortbildungs-Browser |
 

Neoklassische Wortbildung

 
 
Bei der neoklassischen Wortbildung werden Wortbildungselemente verwendet, die keine eigenständige Wörter sind. Im Gegensatz zu Präfixen und Suffixen müssen diese Elemente sich nicht mit eigenständigen Wörtern verbinden. Sie können auch miteinander oder mit Affixen zu neuen Wörtern zusammengesetzt werden. Solche Wortbildungelemente werden oft Konfixe genannt.

So ist keines der Elemente in zum Beispiel Psychologie, Psychopath und logisch ein eigenständiges Wort. Trotzdem sind diese Elemente – hier Formative genannt – als Wortbildungeinheiten zu erkennen. Vergleiche dazu

psych  in  Psychologie, Psychiatrie, psychosozial
log  in  Psychologie, Logopäde, logisch
path  in  Psychopath, Pathologe, pathogen

Diese Formative sind meist griechischen und in geringerem Maße lateinischen Ursprungs. Sie stammen aus klassischen Sprachen. Da die mit ihnen gebildeten Wörter aber oft moderne Bildungen nach klassischem Muster sind, nennen wir das Wortbildungsverfahren neoklassische Wortbildung und die beteiligten Elemente entsprechend neoklassische Formative.

Man beachte, dass im Wörterbuch und in der Wortbildungsgrammatik neue und alte, bereits in den klassischen Sprachen nach dem gleichen Muster entstandene Bildungen nicht voneinander unterschieden werden.

Die Beschreibung der neoklassischen Wortbildung ist zuerst nach der Wortklasse der zusammengesetzten und abgeleiteten Wörter eingeteilt. Die Kapitel beschreiben die verschiedenen Wortbildungsarten, mit denen neoklassische Wörter gebildet werden.

Nomenbildung
Adjektivbildung
Verbbildung
 
Fugenelemente 




Copyright © 2000-2014 Canoo Engineering AG, Kirschgartenstr. 5, CH-4051 Basel, tel. +41 61 228 94 44. All Rights Reserved.
Bedeutungswörterbuch: Copyright © 1996, 1997, 2011 by University of Tübingen.
Nutzungsbedingungen/Datenschutz | Impressum
Spacer
canoonet fürs iPhone
canoonet - FindIT Die semantische Suche für Unternehmen
zappmedia
ÜBERSETZUNGSBÜRO
Alle Sprachen [DIN]